When’s the last time the Bengals won the Super Bowl?

The Cincinnati Bengals are one win over the Kansas City Chiefs away from reaching Super Bowl 57. When was the last time they won the Lombardi Trophy?

The Cincinnati Bengals have embraced the role of spoiler in the AFC in 2022. They held off a comeback attempt by the Baltimore Ravens in the Wild Card Round, and ensured the AFC Championship Game would not be held at a neutral site location by defeating the Buffalo Bills in the Divisional Round. With that, they have a matchup against the Kansas City Chiefs for the conference title for the second consecutive year.

Cincinnati has become Super Bowl contenders shortly after the team selected quarterback Joe Burrow with the first-overall pick in the 2020 NFL Draft. But, when was the last time the Bengals won a Lombardi Trophy?

When was the last time the Bengals won the Super Bowl?

The answer to that, is never. Since the team came into existence in 1968, the Bengals have never won the Lombardi Trophy.

Cincinnati’s first trip to the Super Bowl was back in the 1981 season. After defeating the Bills and the then-San Diego Chargers in the playoffs, the Bengals faced off against the San Francisco 49ers. Unfortunately for Cincinnati, they lost that game 26-21.

Seven years later, the Bengals made it back to the Super Bowl, but they had to face the 49ers once again. Just like the first time, Cincinnati lost to San Francisco, but by the score of 20-16. It was a heartbreaking loss for the Bengals, as they surrendered a go-ahead touchdown pass from Joe Montana to John Taylor with just 34 seconds remaining in regulation.

Cincinnati made it to Super Bowl 56 in the 2021 campaign after beating the Las Vegas Raiders, Tennessee Titans, and Chiefs. They faced off against the Los Angeles Rams, but lost 23-20 after surrendering a late touchdown pass from Matthew Stafford to Cooper Kupp.

The Bengals will look to get back into the big game and win their first Lombardi Trophy. But first, they’ll have to get past the Chiefs in the AFC Championship Game.

Source link

Back to top button