Eight Victorian’s named to Australian Women’s 3×3 squad – Basketball Victoria

Basketball Australia has recently announced the 12-player 3×3 squad ahead of their Tokyo 2020 Olympic Qualifying Tournament, set for May 26-30 in Graz, Austria.

Victorian natives Bec Cole, Maddie Garrick and Alice Kunek will lead the squad, all of whom have had a multitude of international 3×3 experience.

Two new faces to the 3×3 national scene are Lauren Scherf and Alexandra Sharp, who are both coming off solid WNBL season’s for Sydney Uni Flames and Perth Lynx respectively.

Fellow state representatives Anneli Maley, Carlie Smith and Marena Whittle fill the squad which means two thirds of the squad hail from Victoria.

The squad will now head to Basketball Australia’s Centre of Excellence at the Australian Institute of Sport, to partake in a four-day training camp beginning on March 7.

The coaching staff are now all Victorian locals as well, led by Dave Biwer and assisted by Damon Lowery and Hannah Lowe.

Biwer believes he has a top squad in his arsenal and can’t wait to see the players put it all together on the floor.

“I’m really excited about the upcoming camp and the potential that it brings. We have some fantastic new faces coming into the squad, alongside our world class and proven 3×3 players,” Biwer explained.

“This month’s camp will be the first in a series of camps we have planned ahead of May’s Olympic qualifying tournament. Having these camps at Basketball Australia’s Centre of Excellence at the Australian Institute of Sport will provide the perfect high-performance environment to prepare for the challenges ahead.”

When the FIBA 3×3 rankings were frozen on 1 April 2020 with the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Australian women’s 3×3 team were ranked number one in Oceania and number 21 in the world.

Full Squad

Rebecca Cole – Southside Flyers

Keely Froling – University of Canberra Capitals

Maddie Garrick – Melbourne Boomers

Kelsey Griffin – University of Canberra Capitals

Alice Kunek – Arka Gdynia (Poland)

Ruby MacDonald – BA Centre of Excellence

Anneli Maley – Sydney Uni Flames

Lauren Scherf – Sydney Uni Flames

Alexandra Sharp – Perth Lynx

Carlie Smith – Adelaide Lightning

Marena Whittle – Adelaide Lightning

Alex Wilson – Adelaide Lightning


Coaching Staff

David Biwer

Damon Lowery – Whittlesea Pacers

Hannah Lowe – Kilsyth Cobras


Source link

Back to top button